Morning Plane Reads: Three Honeymoon Books

booksWe returned from our honeymoon trip Saturday, and it’s been a whirlwind of catching up on work at home and in the office ever since. I’ll post a few pics from the trip later, but for now, I thought I’d mention the books I finished reading before, during and right after our trip.

First, I read Z: a Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler. The first great thing about this book is that the author went to my alma mater, N.C. State. After reading The Paris Wife the story of Ernest Hemingway’s first wife, I was interested to read about Fitzgerald’s wife. The stories intersected a great deal, because of the circle both couples belonged to in Paris. I must say, I enjoyed reading about Zelda a great deal more than reading about Hadley Hemingway. While Zelda’s story was not ultimately happy, she was a lively and unique woman with many talents and skills of her own. While Hadley’s story involved her being Hemingway’s doormat at all times, Zelda was much more her own person with hobbies and ideas of her own. I really enjoyed this book!

Next, I read The Art Forger by B.A. Shapiro. It was an exciting and suspenseful, yet fictional, twist on the story of the real-life art thefts from Boston’s Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum. I don’t want to give any of the plot away, but this book was really great.

The final book I read on the trip was The Aviator’s Wife by Melanie Benjamin, which went hand-in-hand with Z and The Paris Wife. It was the story of Anne Morrow, the wife of famous aviator Charles Lindenbergh. I enjoyed learning about Anne’s life, but after reading all three books about women with such oppressive husbands, I felt a bit depressed. Anne’s life was very exciting at times, but ultimately, Charles was in control. I guess all I can say is that I’m glad times have changed.

Leave a Reply

