Morning Train Reads: Looking for Alaska

99561My opinion of this book was probably doomed from moment I placed it on hold at the library. After reading The Fault in Our Stars by John Greene this spring, I was obsessed. I just had to read more by the author, and hoped Looking for Alaska would be as great (or greater!) Unfortunately, I was a bit disappointed.

I think the reason for my disappointment is the fact that while both books fall under the Young Adult category, the heroine in The Fault in Our Stars is wise beyond her years. She’s a high school student, but because she’s battling cancer, she has a wisdom that is unmatched, even among adults. In Looking for Alaska, the characters are high school students who come across as…high school students. I thought the story was fairly compelling, but I just didn’t love it the way I loved Stars.

Oh well, on to the next book! I’m looking forward to some extended reading time as I fly to and from Chicago this weekend for the BlogHer Conference. Plus, I’ll see Shana there!

Leave a Reply

