Morning Train Reads: This is Where I Leave You

tropper-novelI finished This is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper during my flights to and from North Carolina this weekend. I flew home to do some wedding preparations, and it was a very productive weekend! Everything is pretty much all set, and to be honest, I wish the wedding were this weekend instead of one month from now. I’m sure the time will fly by quickly, because I am now in the throes of apartment hunting. Blech.

Anyway, about the book! It was sort of funny to be reading a story about a man’s failed marriage while flying home to plan my wedding. This story is also about a family sitting shiva for their father, and all of the shenanigans that go on during seven days of several people under one roof around the clock. It was enjoyable, and the I liked several of the zany characters. It wasn’t my favorite book ever, but it was a nice read for a plane ride.

P.S. I just noticed there is a movie in the works based on this book! Rose Byrne, Tina Fey, Jason Bateman and Connie Britton are listed in the cast. I will definitely want to see it when it comes out!

Leave a Reply

