Morning Train Reads: The Round House

13602426I finished this book last Saturday, but I haven’t been able to figure out what to say about it. The Round House by Louise Eldrich is a New York Times Bestseller, and received tons and tons of praise on Goodreads, so I had very high expectations as I started reading. I did like this book, but it seemed to drag on and on toward the end.

The Round House was my first experience reading Native American fiction. The story takes place on a reservation, and it’s part crime novel/part a coming of age tale of a 13-year-old boy whose mother is the victim of a gruesome attack (not a spolier–this is mentioned on the first page!) Sections of this book were very gripping, and the ending was a total surprise to me. I only wish that the path to that ending were a bit more direct.

Leave a Reply

