Morning Train Reads: Where’d You Go, Bernadette

where-d-you-goOne of the many great things about living in NYC is the leisure reading time that’s built in to my day. For one hour of every week day, I’m on the subway commuting to and from Manhattan with no phone or internet access. It’s really cool to see how many New Yorkers use this time to get some reading done–there’s even a neat blog dedicated to this phenomenon, called Underground New York Public Library. In the time I would have normally spent driving to work in N.C., or watching Netflix in my free time, I’ve read 18 books since moving here in May.

Today, I finished the best book of all 18–Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple. I’m so, so sad that it’s over. It was such a unique story about a zany woman named Bernadette, her family in Seattle, and a trip to Antartica.  I loved the Seattle story elements, because I’ve been there a few times to visit my dear friend Hannah. It was fun to recognize many of the places mentioned throughout the story. Also, the characters were each interesting and lovable in their own unique ways. Please go get this book and read it immediately!

Just for documentation purposes, here are the other books I’ve read in NYC, in the order that I read them [I bolded my favorites]:

The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides
How Did You Get This Number by Sloane Crosley
Let the Northern Lights Erase Your Name by Vendela Vida
A Model World and Other Stories by Michael Chabon
The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes
Shanghai Girls by Lisa See
Bossypants by Tina Fey
Heft by Liz Moore
Sputnik Sweetheart by Haruki Murakami
Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life from Dear Sugar by Cheryl Strayed
After Dark by Haruki Murakami
Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed
Telegraph Avenue by Michael Chabon
The Words of Every Song by Liz Moore
Girlchild by Tupelo Hassman
Carry the One by Carol Anshaw
City of Thieves by David Benioff
Fantastic Mr. Fox by Roald Dahl (obviously!)

As always, I choose many of the books I read from 52 Books, which has been one of my favorite blogs for several years.

5 thoughts on “Morning Train Reads: Where’d You Go, Bernadette

  1. Are you reading book-books or have you moved into the e-reader thingy world? I don’t have a favorite local bookstore anymore so I dunno where to buy books :[

    • I haven’t! I actually get all my books from the library in Brooklyn. I’ve thought about getting a Kindle, but I think I’d miss the actual books!

      • Man my library has like zero books! I dunno if they just don’t have them or if I live in a very active reading community and they are always gone idk justin

      • yeah i have to place holds and sometimes it takes a few weeks! i just place holds for like 10 books at a time (which is only problematic when they all show up at once).

  2. Pingback: Morning Train Reads: Seating Arrangements | Cherrybrook Lane

Leave a Reply

