More crafts! Super easy & useful chalkboard jars

I don’t think there is any limit to craft projects involving mason jars, which is probably not a bad thing. I had always wanted to try chalkboard paint, but didn’t know what I’d do with it. Finally — a useful and clever purpose!

This craft inspiration comes from iDiY. I purchased the chalkboard paint at Lowe’s (about $10 for a small can), and any sized mason jars will do. It just depends on what you want to store in them.


You’ll need painter’s tape and a paint brush, as well as chalk. Just tape off a rectangle on each jar that is big enough to write on, and fill it in! It took about three coats of the chalkboard paint on each jar so it wasn’t opaque. You may also want to wear a fun apron while you’re painting.

I LOVE these. Right now I have coffee, splenda, and pasta in mine. I kind of want to make enough jars to store everything in my entire kitchen [6 boxes of mac & cheese].

I have tons and tons of chalkboard paint leftover, so I guess my options are limitless!

Leave a Reply

