Chair project, phase 1

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Craft class starts Monday! I’m really excited. I’ll be teaching four high school students, who I think are all rising sophomores. I hope I don’t scare them away with my enthusiasm.

My budget for the class is really small, and I was worried I wouldn’t be able to pay for enough projects that would take up the full two hours of class, two nights a week. Then I remembered that in 8th grade art class, we each brought in a piece of furniture, and replicated our favorite painting on its surface. My mom still has the stool I made in her kitchen. I decided that would be a great way to keep my students busy, and would hopefully be a gender-neutral project they’d all enjoy.

So began the hunt for furniture. I checked everywhere — Goodwill, Ram’s Rack (a local thrift store), Big Lots, Wal-Mart, Michael’s, and Lowe’s Hardware. The cheapest chairs or stools I could find were $8, which may not sound like much, but purchasing them for my entire class would have eaten up more than half of my budget. Then, one of my co-workers reminded me of the Habitat Re-Store on the outskirts of Boone. I found these chairs for $2 and $5 apiece! I was thrilled. Alex and I spent the morning sanding and priming them. I hope the kids will have a fairly easy time painting over them with acrylic paint.

Leave a Reply

