A Nice Surprise

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Our yard is not much to look at. The teenage next-door neighbor half-heartedly mows the grass about once a week, but does nothing to the growing masses of weeds that surround the house. There are beds of weeds outside my kitchen window, on either side of our front door, and along the front walk. I once went out and starting pulling the weeds, but removing them just left large patches of brown dirt in which I did not plan on planting. I decided green weeds were better to look at than brown dirt, and that I shouldn’t worry too much about the landscaping of my temporary home. When I pulled up to the house for lunch today, though, I was happy to see these tall, beautiful purple flowers which had sprouted triumphantly from one of our many beds of weeds next to a bug-eaten hosta. I must have missed them in my early morning stupor on the way to work. They are about three feet tall and I really hope they stay a while.

One thought on “A Nice Surprise

Leave a Reply

