Summer Book #3 – Q’s Legacy

This is becoming a blog about books. I spent my afternoon in a hammock by the lake reading  Q’s Legacy, and I must say that I wish I could repeat today over and over until summer ends, and maybe not even then.

Having read Helene Hanff’s most famous book, 84 Charing Cross Road, last summer (or was it the summer before last?) and falling in love, I was excited to read more of her work. What I didn’t know was that Q’s Legacy was in great part about the events which took place in 84 Charing Cross Road, but in greater personal detail. Helene Hanff has a way of writing which makes you feel like she’s an old friend, one you could call for coffee and chat as though you’ve known each other since childhood. She also split her time in the novel between New York City and London, of which I am supremely jealous.

I’m not ready to go back to work tomorrow. I’d rather make a trip to the library and read all day long.

Leave a Reply

